Memories of Marigold !

I woke up in a haphazard, searching for my cell phone somewhere under my pillow. I could hardly open my eyes as it was Saturday last night. The daylight which was peeping inside my room struggling to enter through the window as curtain was the hurdle; made me think as if it might be 6 in the morning. As I found my phone, and  the clock struck 10 o’ clock. I threw my blanket which I was still covered in, rushed towards my balcony to take a look of the weather. Because the climate didn’t made me feel as if it was 10 A.M. And my goodness, I could see the city all drenched in rain. The sky was tar-black and the large clouds were moving towards the city. People ran for cover outside and umbrellas were opened as the clouds spat out their beads of water. Puddles began plinking as the rainfall became heavier.The rain has fallen steadily without let up since before I woke. Outside the summer flowers and leaves droop under the weight of the droplets.

I quickened my pace to get ready as I had to leave to visit a dear friend, who met with an accident last week. Meanwhile as I was waiting for a friend to pick me; as we both had a plan to meet the injured poor friend, the beautiful cocktail-blue shade was beginning to darken into gravel-grey. Large pillows of cloud were forming, blotting out the old-gold color of the sun. I looked for my raincoat, so that I could protect myself from this dripping.

As we started the journey to Ambernath, those raindrops were bigger than prairie hailstones and coming down just as hard, hitting my forehead. As the speed of the bike was above 80kms/per I could hardly open my eyes.  I actually liked it, I found it soothing.

After a long bike ride of probably 34 K Ms and still struggling to hunt the address,  we reached Ambernath. A small place, with the cool freshness in the breeze, with newly constructed buildings, small street shops, muddy puddles everywhere. Ambernath had an aroma,  jasmine-and-gingerbread fragrance, warm and fresh, and it laved the land with sweetness. We kept roaming in search of “Marigold“, the building name, where we were supposed to reach.  We bumped into the friend’s place, it was a mixed feeling to meet him after months but it made me feel sad to find him in such a terrible situation where his both the hands were fractured. After hours of gossips about every little happening thing in life, we sat for lunch. The food was wonderful in taste and aroma, typical north Indian menu of Puri, Aaloo and Bhindi sabji, Pakode and the best part of the lunch was mouthwatering Kheer made of steamed rice. And to add  more to dessert there was thick and sweetest Aamras I ever had.

The day had been beautiful meeting those good souls and discussing about our college days, biding goodbyes in hope of meeting soon we set off towards our respective homes. That was when the traveler in me wondered, what would my personality be like if I happened to live in a rain-crazy place like Ambernath? Would my moods, like the fickle weather, begin drifting restlessly between misty shadow and cheery sunlight? Would I become unable to function in places where the climate stayed put for more than two hours at a time? My mid was full of thoughts, about friend’s accident, the food which I had, about my past, my sufferings and  maybe there was a feeling of solitude. By then I could sense the cotton candy clouds drifting away and the sky was like a dome of plasma-blue. The clouds had looked like airy anvils drifting under the gleaming disc of sun. I could see mountains all covered with fog. If you remember Lysa Tully‘s castle, Arya Stark‘s aunt from Game of thrones, that is what I could related those mountains to; tall and high, standing stiff among those foggy sky. And I felt so amazing to witness such a beauty. Nature is a thing of beauty, not many understand this. It’s only when you are happy and never worry about those materialistic thing, is when you can enjoy such serenity.

I tried capturing that mesmerizing scene, but it is said the best part of the beauty is that which no picture can describe. Witnessing something being there itself and experiencing the same through the pictures captured at two sides of a coin. Buried in the blankets late at night, I contemplated how well did I  spend my day. Rain has another powerful impact on travel. I think we humans are hardwired to react viscerally, even emotionally, to it. Just as some people get physical twinges in their back or knees when the weather shifts toward the wet side, I get twinges of feelings. Sometimes it’s that classic rainy-day depressive mood; and sometimes its just stay cozy and cuddled up in bed mood. I’ve experienced many other rains in my life but it was the most memorable because it came in the need of hour. This rainy day was most memorable for me as I was carrying the memories of marigold back home. I am a traveler in a whirlwind world of water.

Leave a Reply

